Frequently asked questions 



Don't see your question? Contact the Redevelopment Project Team here

What is the Wagga Wagga Health Service (WWHS) Redevelopment? 

The Redevelopment will improve accessibility to health services, improve the integration of health services, provide employment opportunities and enable innovation in health service delivery. Most importantly, the Redevelopment will build a new sustainable health system which will deliver better health outcomes now and into the future for the people of Wagga Wagga and surrounding communities. It will be delivered in three stages:

1. Mental Health Building – Construction of a new 50 bed mental health unit and associated early works across the site. The Mental Health Building was officially opened and occupied in October 2013.
2. Acute Services Building – Construction of a new Wagga Wagga Base Hospital including the emergency department, operating theatres, women’s and children’s inpatient units, intensive care and high dependency units, angiography unit, additional inpatient beds and rooftop helipad. It also involved the demolition of the existing 6-storey hospital tower building and in its place, a new car park and north-facing main entrance and public amenities. This stage was completed by the end of 2017.
3. Ambulatory Care Building – Construction of a purpose-built 5-storey building known as the Health Services Hub for staff and services currently located on mulit sites on the health campus and in the city. The project includes secure parking for fleet vehicles under the building, linkways to Wagga Wagga Base Hospital as well as landscaping and additional at grade parking space on the health campus. Construction and operational commissioning of the new building are scheduled for completion in early 2021. Also part of Stage 3 is the relocation of BreastScreen NSW from Calvary Health Care Riverina campus to a refurbished building in Berry Street in Wagga Wagga's central business district for easy access for eligible women. This was completed in 2019.

Who is managing the WWHS Redevelopment project?


The project is managed by Health Infrastructure NSW (HI), which is part of the Ministry of Health, NSW. An Executive Steering Committee oversees the project and has representation from the Ministry of Health, HI and the Murrumbidgee Local Health District(MLHD).

When will the WWHS Redevelopment be complete?

Construction of the third and final stage in the Redevelopment will be complete iearly 2021. Services and staff from multiple locations on the health campus and in the city will transfer to the new Stage 3 building, known as the Health Services Hub. This will be followed by the removal of demountable buildings on the health campus and the official opening of the new building. Find an Anticipated Project Timeline here.

What health services will be offered when the Redevelopment is complete?

Some of the main clinical services provided by the new Wagga Wagga Health Service Redevelopment will include general surgical, general medical, orthopaedics, paediatrics, maternity, neonatal care, emergency services and inpatient mental health services. Support services will include operating theatres, pharmacy, medical imaging, pathology and hotel services. Stage 3 will deliver sub-acute inpatient, community, primary and ambulatory based services. You can find a list of services in the new Health Services Hub here.

Operational Commissioning FAQs

Frequently asked questions on the operational commissioning of the Health Services Hub

Click Here